Sunday Contemplation (20 Jul 13)

Sunday Contemplation

Sunday Contemplation

 

I kind of touched on these themes in yesterday’s Sark Saturday post, but I thought I would flesh them out a bit today.  If you didn’t read it, allow me to summarize that portion, I referred to ‘Maintaining One’s Honor‘ and ‘The Golden Rule‘.

 

Now I don’t know if you have heard of ‘The Golden Rule‘, I assume so, but for those who are a little fuzzy…One should treat others as one would like others to treat oneself.  There are many variations of this basic concept and it transcends many cultures.  When I was in school, I remember being taught this rule, is it no longer be taught?  It is a good rule, and should be.  Beyond that, this is a very easy thing to do.

 

Maintaining One’s Honor is a bit more complex, there is no quick and easy maxim to fulfill it.  It takes, one to have a standard of morals and behavior that one follows.  That in itself is not to terribly difficult to understand, but those morals and behavior is assumed to be of the exemplary sort.  Something to look up to and emulate.  That is where it gets a bit more difficult to do.  Integrity primarily makes up Maintaining One’s Honor, but it is far more than that, because you must maintain your integrity in both word and deed.  You must put others before yourself.  Our modern sensibilities tell us that all these things are silly, for a time gone by.  You get rich and famous by being deceitful and underhanded, and if being rich and or famous is your goal, there you go, that is how you go about doing it.

 

If on the other hand you think life has more meaning than a few extra dollars and some paparazzi stalking you for a picture of your junk, well then you do have to work at it.  Which on a slightly different path, maybe the old saying that having your picture taken steals your soul is true, but only a tiny piece of it, for normal people we need not worry, but for celebrities and politicians who have thousands of pictures taken….well can you really argue with results like that.  [Semi-Sark Alert] .

 

I will talk about Maintaining One’s Honor at length in a later blog for now, I’m getting tired so I’m going to log off, I will probably add more to this later, it is 0400 so I’m probably babbling more than contemplating.  Be safe.

 

 

Leave a Reply

