Sunday Contemplation (22 Sep 13)

Sunday Contemplation

Sunday Contemplation

 

Now I am not an economist or one of them smart people who advise the idiots in the tower (aka the politicos) but I think I understand a few things about economics, like the price of a good or service is directly related to availability and desirability, you know Supply and Demand.

Now I am of the mind-set that the less the government has to do with the economy the better, I think that their job is to act as a gentle overseer ensuring the freest trade system possible.  Now I realize that sometimes the government acting at the behest of the people, want to influence things, like the sale of tobacco and  alcohol, by adding what is known as ‘sin tax’.  Thereby raising the price, and lowering the demand this has seemed to work with tobacco and alcohol, at least to some degree.

So with that rather simple thought in mind, why is the approach that the government the diametric opposite of that, more regulation means less availability which means increased cost.  Wouldn’t logic dictate that we make medical as available as say Starbucks?  An aid station on every other corner, and one at your local Wal-Mart?  Heck maybe a nurse at your local Starbucks.  I could see it now, “I’d like a double mocha espresso, and I’ve been feeling a little run down, I think I need to see the nurse, oh and I’d also like one of those blueberry scones.”

Now, of course, I jest, but seriously we have pharmacists at Wal-Mart, Walgreens, and numerous other outlets, what if we staffed them with a doctor and a couple of nurses?  Obviously serious ailments and injuries would be referred to a hospital, but if you could get your basic treatment at the same place you pick up your meds…How could that be a bad thing?  More supply, means less expensive services.

The other thing, that seems to have completely slipped through the cracks of the great minds who wrote up the Affordable Health Care Act (aka ObamaCare) is with 50 odd million new customers, and no new doctors, nurses, techs, and things like CT scanners, X-ray machines etc, will mean…..Higher Prices (unless you put a price cap then you will have longer waits for services)  not a nice thing to happen if you are in need of some medical care.

 

I understand the Senator Ted “The Cruz Missile” Cruz is attempting to stop the funding of ObamaCare, now few think that he will be successful (we can dream tho, right?), perhaps a compromise would be a rewritten ObamaCare law, but I’m not holding my breath, and I suggest that you don’t either.

Leave a Reply

