Suicides by Train in Norman Oklahoma

Lantern Timeglass Journal

LANTERN TIMEGLASS JOURNAL

Editorial Article  by Jim Lantern

30 September 2016

Suicides by Train in Norman Oklahoma

When I moved to Norman, May 2008, I lived in an apartments complex next to tracks at Brooks. The use of the train horn was excessive, more than what the law requires. I made inquiries, and while doing so there was a death. Norman Transcript informed me they try to avoid referring to those deaths by train as suicide when they are suicides, so as not to give any other suicidal people the idea of death by train. Norman’s dirty little secret.

It happens along that stretch of track near OU because most of the suicides are-were OU students I was told. I hated college, when I attended back in 1975 at age 18-19, but not enough to kill myself. There was much peer pressure to stay with it, but I chose an…

View original post 807 more words

Leave a Reply

